Skip to content

Desperadoes Waiting For A Train – Part Three

March 3, 2014

As a professional aviator for more years than I care to count, I always remembered a poem from a Si-Fi short story I read so long, long ago called “The Cool Green Hills Of Earth”. I think it was a song as well.

I heard that poem go through my mind, strange how that happens somehow every once in a while…

“I pray for one last landing,

On the globe that gave me birth,

Let me rest my eyes, on the fleecy skies,

And the cool green hills of Earth…”

 

That verse came to my mind the other day,

I think it was because I was reading it

When I heard my mom cry out to me from downstairs…

“Daddy’s dead….

Go to Charlie’s and get help…”

She was beside herself, you know she really did love him…

She was in shock, but she was strong to us…she was reeling inside, but she was strong to us…

So I ran to the neighbors, not really understanding what had happened…

They were sitting at the table, eating if I remember right,

And I cried, “daddy’s dead, can you come, momma wants you to come…”

They all jumped up and ran to the house

The neighbors all came…it all happened so fast it was, now I don’t remember, maybe I don’t want to…

He had left a note to tell them where he could be found…

I was about 12 or so, don’t remember; don’t want to maybe…

I remember the last time I saw him I was going up the stairs to my room and he was coming down

And we passed there I said hi, and he said hi back…

That was it…that was all there was…never saw him alive again…

Here now, gone in an instant…

Do you hear me? Here today, gone today, you never know…

Life sucks, doesn’t it?

We take it all for granted, please don’t…

Maybe that is why I am as I am today – that we take all of this for granted, and

We should not, we should value every second, every minute, every hour and every day.

Did you tell anyone you loved them today? They might not be here tomorrow…

Did you hear that five teenagers died last night – Judy, Betty, Mary, Bill and Susie all passed away in an awful accident…I wonder where they are now…

Everyone was so sure they would be in school the next day, they were so sure…but it was not meant to be…they shut down the school for the day, hundreds went to the service…

I had a friend many years ago, dead now, but he and I were the best of buddies, he was a truck driver, drove 18 wheelers. I miss him still. Do you miss anyone? Have you told them?

We were sitting at the airport one day, watching the airplanes land and takeoff, it was an old bench, and we would sit there and talk for hours.

He told me he was driving to Boston one day, on an open stretch of road; saw a car pull out of a driveway, entire family, Dad, Mom and three kids. He said they looked right at him, and stopped, so he did not slow down – suddenly the car pulled right out in front of him, he killed them all. Never got over it, but he said there was nothing he could do, nothing…still it haunted him. He had a sad look as he spoke if it…wiped out an entire family, you see how quickly it comes sometimes?

Here today, not here today…

Do you hear me, really?

Now I look back through the mists of 70+ years, looking though eyes far wiser, far wetter from tears and much sorrow…

Far more opened than ever before….

Having met Jesus Christ face to face, not even being religious at all…

He called me out, never have figured out why, I am such a poor excuse for a Christian, it makes me weep sometimes, a Judas…

The Bible is true, all of it…it really is no matter what you may think, it means exactly what is says.

All I wanted was the truth, that’s all – tell me the truth behind life, that’s all…

No matter what it is…so I searched it out and Jesus is the only truth there is…

But then I knew the secret behind all of life itself,

 Jesus showed me what it was…and it was Him…it was Divine Love, there is nothing like it. So vast, so deep, so all encompassing, and we are cut off from it, it is veiled from us, but you can find it if you really want to… you see, we are lost creatures, desperados waiting for the train…

So we struggle, we seek answers, but in all the wrong places,

We are like promiscuous women, sleeping with anyone thinking it is love somehow…

So we search for the answers with our microscopes, our telescopes and all in between. Looking for love in all the wrong places – they will never find it; never find the real God Particle cause it isn’t there…

It can only be found by individual people now, those who will search it out, for the answer really is within them – just as Jesus said it was. It isn’t easy, but God said He was for us, and if the Lord is for us, who can be against us? Maybe we need to grab hold of the promises…

Divine love, so hidden it is, such a mystery. So much argument over it, but all one has to do is what Jesus told them to do and they could find it, but it is the hardest thing you will ever do.  But if you set your heart to it, He will show you…

 

But more to the truth we are all desperadoes waiting for a train

Oh yes the cool green hills of Earth, lest I forget…

A planet lost; an entire planet in rebellion, a planet that hates the real creator and does not even know it, all desperadoes waiting for that train and soon it will be here.

 

And now I ask myself, could I have said something to my Dad,

To him, to make him reconsider, to interrupt plans he had made in his heart and mind….

To bring the love of the Lord he did not believe in to his heart…

Maybe I could have, but then again, it is what it is….

Could the Lord have put something in my heart so that day would not have been…

It was a rainy day, dark and damp…

He had gone to deep woods and hung himself, so cut him down and brought him back

The undertaker came, drove away…my Dad was a desperado waiting for a train, and

The train came for him

My life changed after that…

 

I sucked as a kid, disobedient – I got lots of real bad whippings…

I grew to hate him and I dreamed he would come back and whip me again…

For years, but then as I grew older,

I thanked the Lord for my Dad because he had taken the time to discipline me…it was true love I came to find out later…

Beating the foolishness out of me…

You can’t do that today, you know, they call it child abuse, but it saved my life, the Bible is always right you know… I would most likely either be in prison or dead somehow, so now I know he saved my life….and my other Dad, the one in heaven, He saved my life too. Funny how that works.

Always looking for some way, there must be some way,

I cry into the night – there must be some way to reach them all, somehow,

You know the people around you, family, friends that are not really, but only seem to be…

Lord, is there a way – got to be a way to warn them all…

But then again, maybe they don’t even care at all, never will. The Lord knows…

After all, if YOU could not reach them with all the miracles and all…

Everyone makes their choices, everyone has their priorities.

You can tell them by what they do, not by what they say…

Disappointing sometimes, but you do find out what means more to someone by what they do. They will always do what means more to them, often a total contradiction to what they tell you…not always, but most of the time.

And other commitments as well…you can always tell…

“OH, I really wanted so much to be there with you, you know, but this other thing came up, sorry, I just can’t make it…”

 So the other thing meant more to them, or they would have said to that “other thing”, I can’t be there. Sorry”. So you always know, that is how you tell where things sit. Might as well know now before the rubber hits the road – many an excuse will always be offered, but that is what they really are, excuses to cover over the REAL PRIORITY of their heart. It wasn’t you.

This is why Jesus pounded it home, I think, don’t RSVP me and then not show up. Don’t let ANYTHING get in the way and if it does, your priorities are showing themselves…blood, they say, is always thicker than water…If you don’t love Jesus more that your family, you might as well forget it.

Same with loves. What is loved more? It is obvious if you just watch…

I wonder sometimes how many marriages were destroyed by the corporations – where climbing the ladder to the top meant so much more than being with those they claimed they loved…

I heard about it somewhere, not sure where, really, but I have seen the wreckage. It’s all about priorities, that which you really love is that which you will do…

So when Jesus came down here, what was His priority? He loved life, but He chose death. Why? Because your salvation meant more to Him than anything else – quit lying to yourself. Quit making excuses. Your heart is shown by what you do, not by what you say. Better to just shut up and not say anything…

They are a most mysterious race these homo-sapiens… all messed up in the head, are they worth saving???

Let me think – someone thought so, I think I heard about that somewhere. I wonder where it was…

They called it Calvary, I think it was, sometime long ago something went down there I think it was…

Some event most people reject but should not… I think they called it redemption or something like that. A purchase…

I hear a train whistle in the fog ahead, I see the glow of the locomotive beginning to show

I think maybe it is coming for the desperadoes…

And then it will be too late for you, you know, way too late. That report you had to make? That job you just had to have? That promotion that was so important?

Just one more day, one more week, one more month and I am out of here, Jesus, just give me a little more time, that’s all I need, just a little more time. That last grain of sand just went through your hourglass. To bad, so sad.  Gone now. Gone forever now, that icy hand of death came to visit you – are you ready for it?

2014-03-03_1630

So all your friends and family, they gathered at your grave site, said their goodbyes and left for home, to watch the latest news and football game. Some will remember, some will not, you know, life goes on… Go figure…

Do you hear what the Spirit is saying to you???

 

 

LIGHTGATE BLOGGER

3 Comments
  1. Abby permalink
    March 4, 2014 6:32 pm

    I could hardly stand to read this. There are no words of comfort for someone who has gone through such a thing. But Christ can heal, comfort and sometimes, an occassional and surprise refreshing. God bless you.

    Like

  2. March 4, 2014 7:55 am

    Good Morning Stewart,
    I always think that we aren’t for it and why didn’t Jesus say “No, Thank you. I won’t die for them”. Why does He love us so much? After reading John Bunyan’s Grace Abounding, I realized that the Agape Love of Christ loves without cause, loving us under many a temptation and desertion.

    How faithful and consistent is our Lord! We do take him and our lives wholly for granted. We Christians, should be like David or Daniel, devout and in earnest prayer in every way.
    Thank you for reality check and Thank you for the research ministry unto our Lord…

    Like

  3. March 3, 2014 8:47 pm

    Stewart I have being trying to get in contact with you for the past two weeks.
    I had given a donation on your web site and was expecting to receive the futurescape PDF
    and despite 3 emails now to your enigma email address I have not seen a reply.
    This behavior would be quite out of character for you as I have have received previous
    publications from you using the same method.
    Can you please contact me and let me know what is going on?

    Regards

    Anthony

    Like

Comments are closed.

